“I AM: Seven Identity Markers of Jesus” – a new series at Eastbrook Church

This coming Sunday at Eastbrook Church we celebrate the resurrection of Jesus and begin a new preaching series entitled “I AM: Seven Identity Markers of Jesus.” Exploring the seven “I am” statements of Jesus in the Gospel of John, this Easter season we want to encounter Jesus again for the first time. Drawing upon the Gospel context and Old Testament history, we want to step more deeply into what Jesus was saying then and what it means for our life with God today.

Here are the weekly topics for this series, which begins on Easter Sunday and leads up to Pentecost:

April 9 [Easter] – “I am the Resurrection and the Life”- text: John 11:25

April 16 – “I am the Bread of Life” – text: John 6:35

April 23 – “I am the light of the world” – text: John 8:12

April 30 – “I am the gate/door” – text: John 10:7

May 7 – “I am the good shepherd” – text: John 10:11

May 14 – “I am the way, the truth, and the life” – text: John 14:6

May 21 – “I am the true vine” – text: John 15:1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s